Lt. Governor Dan Forest Announces Members of Computer Science Steering Committee


As Chairman of the Special Committee on Computer Science at the State Board of Education, Lt. Governor Forest announces the members who will help lead the process of ensuring high-quality Computer Science training and education is available to all our North Carolina public school students.  The first goal of this Steering Committee will be to vet and present Computer Science standards to the State Board of Education at the end of this current school year.  



Abi Olukeye of Mecklenburg County – Founder, Smart Girls HQ

R Brook Osborne of Durham County – Education Program Manager,

Chris Stephenson of Oregon – Head of Computer Science Education Strategy, Google

Deborah Seehorn of Wake County – Past Interim Executive Director of Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA)

Juan Vargas of Wake County – Dean and VP of Education, Infosys Corp.

Kathleen A. Dawson of Guilford County – Chief Innovation Officer for Guilford County Schools

Russell Strand-Poole of Durham County – Durham Public Schools Computer Science Teacher

Scott McQuiggan of Wake County – Director, Curriculum Pathway, SAS

Tom Looney of Wake County – Former Executive of IBM/Lenovo



This press release is related to: